Knowing Your Heart

Jesus wants us to live from our hearts–that part of us where we connect with Him and hear Him. The opposite of living from our hearts is living from the flesh–that place where we think we can decide what is good and bad without God. These are very distinct different ways to live. (See Joy-Filled Relationships- here)

If Jesus wants me to live from my heart, then it seems to me that it would be important to know my heart.  We get to know our heart from those around us who truly know us and see us the way God sees us. If we grew up not being told correctly who we are, we are not able to walk what we talk.  We walk in the lies that were programmed into our belief system.  Walking in a lie brings pain and we think we are bad because of the pain.  I have found great freedom from those kinds of feelings by learning that the pain I feel is a signal that it is my true heart that is hurting.  If I am hurting because of dishonesty, I have an honest heart.  If I hurt when someone betrays me, it means I am loyal.  This serves to turn a negative into a positive. (See Jewels for My Journey-Kindle version here        Print version – here

About Barbara Moon

I am an ordinary person who walks with an extraordinary God. I love to share what He has done in my life. I love to help parents with their kid questions. I love to teach little ones to swim. I love to study and learn new things and for the last ten years I have been focusing on how the brain works in connection with joyful relationships, how that affects development, maturity and trauma recovery. When not writing, my days are full of family, (especially grandchildren), mentoring, counseling, sewing, and reading.
This entry was posted in Current joyful musings, My Journey, Relationships and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

